The F-Word


When I tried to think of where to start. The notion of “War On Choice” could potentially sound daunting and too large, where do you find a starting point in that? I could begin with feminism. The history of feminism. Or I could begin with a lengthy discussion of symbols in our daily life. But that really is not relevant to this site. It is not relevant to what we’re discussing. Those are things that you can pick up in any communication class or are just basic common sense. It is ivory tower academia, which is useful and interesting it is rather hard to put Burke’s theory of symbols on an activist sign to picket the Supreme Court. What is useful is the newest curse word to the radical right, feminism.

Kristin Rowe-Finkbeiner wrote The F-Word in which she described the ability of the right-wing religious fundamentalists to twist and contort the word feminism into an evil word that no one wants to attribute or title themselves a feminist. Which makes sense.

What is a feminist? What does that have to do with the war on choice? Why does it even matter?

I think asking what a feminist is like asking a person what they believe is the best movie of all time, or who they think is God. You will get a different answer each and every time from each individual. And that is okay, by no means am I advocating a static interpretation of the word. I have multiple interpretations of the word depending on the day and the frame in which I choose. Baumgardener and Richards authors of amazing feminist works such as Grassroots or my personal favorite Manifesta define feminism as…

Feminism, a word that describes a social-justice movement for gender equity and human liberation, is often treated as the other F word. Partly because it’s a word of great power, it’s nearly as unseemly as those other girl terms, cunt or bitch. This in part explains why by the time the two of us were at college learning that we were indeed feminist, the term was dropping with qualifiers. I’m a …power, postmodern, Girlie, pro-sex, Prada, academic, gender, radical, Marxist, equity, cyber, Chicana, cultural eco, lesbian, Latina, womanist, animal rights, American Indian, International diva, Jewish, Puerto Rican, working-class, lipstick, punk rock, young, old …feminist. All of these adjectives help women feel described rather than confined by a term that should simply connote an individual women’s human rights, and the possibility of liberating oneself from patriarchy.  (50)

While that definition is fairly long winded, I also feel it is fairly accurate to the predicament feminists have found themselves in. There has been such a focus on the fluidity of the movement and the word that we are finding we cannot find an accurate definition. I know I am a feminist does that mean I am against abortion? Does that mean I am for abortion? More accurately I think it means I am pro-women. But see that sounds like whoever is saying that is a lesbian, which is not in fact accurate.  What is it then? What does it mean to be a feminist without a paragraph description?

bell hooks describes feminism more succinctly as, “Feminism is a movement to end sexism, sexist exploitation, and oppression.” I think this definition is not only all encompassing but fits rather well with that we are discussing in this ‘site. The War on Choice is a matter of feminism. I have always said that feminism is merely human decency. It is an effort to afford individual’s equal rights and abilities. It is important to acknowledge that being a feminist is an individual choice, I am not saying everyone becomes a feminist I am merely asking that you evaluate whether or not you actually are one. I think more people are feminists than realize it because of the way the media has painted feminism especially associated with abortion and women’s bodies.

Why does this matter? It matters because as Burke states if symbols are important and how we use those symbols shape the way we view the world than evaluating a symbol like feminism is uniquely important because it forces us to determine what is an effective use of symbols and what is not. To change the system we have to first question the symbol system in which we have become accustomed to. We are all sisters, we are all humans and we all share a social responsibility to one another to speak out if another cannot. Audre Lorde was correct on that.  Language shapes reality, so how do we shape reality? We shape our language and change our language first and foremost.

Mission: Are you a feminist? What is your own definition of a feminist, regardless if you fit it or not?

10 Comments to “The F-Word”

  1. Femisnism has become a dirty word because all genders have created the conditions for it. Men have vilified the feminist movement in a fevered attempt to reduce its power, and some feminists have sowed the seeds of the movement’s destruciton by endorsing a movement which vilifies men and those who don’t agree with them.
    I consider myself a feminist of sorts. I believe wome shoulde have equal rights and responsibilities. However, I don’t want to define women or feminists because I believe that the point of feminism (or at least the point of my particular brand of feminism) is that women should be empowered to define themselves.

  2. I am not a feminist mainly because I associate the word “feminism” with what some call “femi-nazis” who promote the female interest over and above interests that are fair or good for all humankind. I believe in total human equality regardless of gender, race, or religion. However, I do not believe in affirmative action. I do not believe that less qualified people should be paid more or admitted to college simply because of a minority status.

  3. I agree that working towards a definition of feminism is important to ensure that there is as much uniformity in discourse as possible. However, when I think about feminism, what matters is whether I internally believe that I am entitled to live my version of this word. Thus, to me, feminism is directed towards women.

  4. the irony, of course, is that standard accounts of feminism reproduce heteronormative conceptions of what “counts” as sexism. while i consider myself a feminist in the sense that gender equality sounds awesome, therefore, i think it behooves the ‘feminist movement’ to reframe the conversation in terms of gender equality rather than women’s rights. after all, a large source of the latter is the lack of the former…

  5. To me, a feminist is someone who believes that gender shouldn’t be one of the classifications that divides up our society. I consider myself to be a feminist, although I am identify as a male.

    I think that one of the largest misunderstandings of feminism is that people use one “feminist” (or a small group) to define the entire movement. I disagree with bell hooks on a few issues, but I understand that she is not the epitome of the feminist movement. When there is such a large group, and especially one that subdivides along racial, cultural, economic, environmental, psychological and sociological issues-this list is by no means exclusive- it is impossible to easily package its meaning into a box that one can place on a shelf. That, in my opinion, is a good thing, although it can confuse someone who does not want to familiarize themselves with the history, literature and philosophies of the movement.

  6. In many areas of my life I usually find people equate feminism with cunt and bitch. Most people have a static vision of what a feminist is, as an uppity liberal and/or uptight bitch like the character “Vivian” in Legally Blonde.

    I have trouble with describing women as feminists to avoid those connotations. Usually I will just use a word like “socially active” or “interested in women’s issues” to avoid people getting the wrong impression. Its unfortunate I have to do that in academic or workplace situations.

  7. feminism is communism. i can’t believe you would advocate such drivel.

  8. I think that the problem is the perception of feminism. In politics and other spheres dominated by men it is completely totalized and stigmatized- simply thinking that you are a man’s equal makes you a feminist. Women are in between a rock and a hard place; we are either as competitive and aggressive as men (and thereby seen as radical left winged crazy feminist who think that women and men are equal,) or we are nicer and more soft spoken (thereby perpetuating the idea that women cannot compete.

    I think that feminism is one of those ambiguous things that are more easily defined by things they are not. I.E. it is not a subscription to the radical, left-wing thought that women are better than men.

    Feminism to me is not a movement or an action, but at its core is a belief that equality is a fundamental human right that all women should be afforded. It is the belief that gendered violence such as abuse, sexual assault, and rape- epidemics that uniquely affect women- should be stopped. It is the belief that no one should be looked down or belittled because of their gender. It is the belief that the double-edged swords, double standards, and stigmas associated with women from all walks of life should be erased.

  9. What is hard to grasp about the word feminism is that there is so many degrees of feminism. You have femists who are very radical in the belief that men have degraded women for all time and that biologically they believe that they are the dominant race. Then you have liberal feminist who aren’t as extreme as the radicals and they believe that there should be an equality between everyone and of course you have those who are in between. For me, feminism is the desire to change the status quo. Women are discriminated in our society, there’s no sugar coating that. I feel that women should have the right and ability to suceed in life as men succeed in life. I feel that women should have the same oportunities, experiences, and abilities as men do. However, I feel that the last sentance should be reciprocated to affect men as well. I don’t look at every guy and think that he’s oppresive and that he’s the reason that I don’t have the same liberties. I’m not a man hater! Which is a common misconception about feminist.

  10. Feminism, think of it as elusive as you want, is basically just penis envy. Obviously.

Leave a comment